Altered art-picture frames

When scrapbooking I always try to make my pages 3 dimensional by adding layers of flowers, ribbons and folding apertures all which add interest to the page. One step removed from creating a scrapbook page is making a picture frame using old photographs and the fabulous art parts large square and circle frames which are perfect for an evening make.

I started off by inking the frames with black soot Distress Ink (Tim Holtz) over sequin waste which gave a lovely mottled effect. I then chose my papers and continued to make the matching embellishments to fit the frame.

Mum- The flowers are layered in contrasting patterns and the butterfly is heat embossed with Copper Bronze Lustre (Cosmic Shimmer embossing powder) and mounted on a paper flower.

Dad-the photo is mounted on a luggage label covered in patterned paper and I used bottle tops to decorate the frame. You can fill the bottle tops with Glossy Accents if you prefer to give an enameled look. 

I have some more frames on order and will be making up plenty more of these when I return from holiday.

In the meantime, I am busy creating the flowers and other embellishments I intend to use.

Something to look forward to when I get back. I almost can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

